The Mom Binder

Standard

One day a friend offered to share how she keeps the kids field trips, attendance, school supply lists and assignments organized. I am always eager to learn something that will help our school run more smoothly. After exploring her Mom Binder I was able to decided what I would like in mine.  First I started with a field trip log. I wanted mine to have plenty of space to write about a few things we learned while on our field trip. This is a link to the one that I use. (Field Trip Log) Keeping attendance is pretty important. The kids are always excited to hit the 180 day point. The easiest way I have found is a calendar. This is the link to the one I use. (Attendance record form)  . It is easy to put an x or check mark in the space. Why would a supply list be important? For long time homeschoolers like myself it’s good to be able to look back and see what did or didn’t work. Or even what curriculum or books you no longer need. It makes parting with somethings easier knowing someone else could use them. (Supply list form) For the longest time I have just used a basic lesson plan but this year we are trying something different. We are using weekly planners. The older girls each have a notebook with pre-printed weekly plans. Each Monday we will sit down and set goals of what they should accomplish for that week. I am hoping it will make them more accountable for finishing their work as well as give them more freedom. You can find the weekly planner at MoneysavingMom. This is the link. (weekly planner)  I have also added a few other things to the girls notebooks. They include an adjective wheel, printed prayers from Catholicallyear and book report forms. To my Mom binder I have added a 2014-2015 calendar (2014-2015 calendar) *scroll all the way down to multi year*, a copy of our school rules, a copy of each form I use for when I need to make quick, last minute copies, a copy of our letter of intent for that year, a copy of Marek Bennett’s Multiple Intelligences in the classroom and a copy of the Holy Days of Obligation for 2014-2015 (if you would like a copy please send me a quick email to adventureswithsix@gmail.com ) I am really excited to put my Mom binder to use this year to keep track of everything I need to in one place. I hope through this post you have found something you can use to  help keep you organized throughout the school year. What are your must haves in your mom binder?

One response »

  1. Pingback: New Improved Mom Binder | Adventures with Six

Leave a Reply

