Lent 2015: Another year to try and get it right

Standard


It’s that time of year again. The time when we eat fish instead of other meats and try to get ourselves back on track. So I’m going to be very honest in saying that Advent didn’t go so well. We didn’t do the Advent wreath everyday and the Christmas Angels didn’t make an attempt to visit either. I just didn’t have it in me. I am trying to be hopeful that Lent will be better.

As a family we will be going through Bringing Lent Home with St. Therese of Lisieux. It includes a parent reflection, family prayer, a story of St. Therese’s life, Fasting, Almsgiving, and prayer for each day. It’s kinda like the prayers and readings for Advent. We bought it last year at our local Pauline Sisters book & media store. I just ordered a Mother Teresa version for $2 at Ave Maria Press. I will save it for next year. They also have a Pope Francis  and  St. JPII editions. I am excited to see if we can make this work better for us this year.

With that said I will also be doing some personal reading and growing. The first book I will be reading is the Diary of Saint Maria Faustina Kowalska.  I don’t know much of anything about St. Faustina but I have heard lots of good things. The kids and I pray the Chaplet of Divine Mercy on a pretty regular basis. It’s a beautiful prayer especially in song.

I will also be going through Surviving Depression: A Catholic Approach with companion journal. I bought this as a set on sale in the fall. As someone who deals with depression from time to time I thought this would be helpful. I have also been dealing with some depression tendencies.  Maybe this set will keep me from going down a rabbit hole.

I will also be trying to fight off some of my own vices. Not because it’s Lent but because I should. No, I can’t just go to confession and that’s that. I have to work hard at doing the right thing just like everybody else. It’s never an easy battle but very much worthwhile.

I wish you all luck in your Lenten goals this year. I honestly think even the effort counts. The road to Sainthood isn’t easy. So even if you break a Lenten promise I say just try again. Life is hard and we are all sinners trying to do the right thing and earn our spot in heaven.

Leave a Reply

