Cosmic Kids Yoga

Today I would like to tell you about this awesome YouTube channel suggested to me by a friend. After I had 2 doctors tell me to try to try out yoga I decided I should follow their advice. The hard part was where do I start? How do I find a good yoga program that will work for my family?  I decided to include the kids because I knew it would make me stick with it. After all everything I do is ultimately for them. Being healthy is also part of that.

I did the normal thing where you ask friends first. I had a few offers of what to use and DVDs that friends would loan to us. We tried a few DVDs that were intended for adults first. The kids complained alot and didn’t seem to enjoy it at all. I really needed them to want to do it even if I thought it was silly. A friend suggested Cosmic Kids Yoga on YouTube.

I figured what can it hurt to give it a try. So we did. The kids had a blast. Cosmic Kids Yoga is a channel that uses stories to get kids to do yoga. The kids would ask “Mom, are you sure we are doing yoga?” They would really get into the stories and movements (yoga poses). Even Pooh and Baby Kermit will join in. I made a plan to do yoga 3 times a week for 30-45 minutes. Thanks to Cosmic Kids we have been able to stick to that plan.

So why should you try Cosmic Kids?

  1. It can fulfill any PE requirements. In DC we are required to do something for Physical Education. Last year we used Easy Peasy. This year we will be dong yoga.
  2. It can be done no matter the weather. Because Cosmic Kids Yoga is a YouTube channel we are still able to exercise if its hot or raining outside.
  3. It’s a great way to let kids use their imaginations. There are minimal amount of special effects. Most of the time you are listening to the story and doing the poses. The kids have to use there imagination to really get into the story.
  4. It’s fun. The kids all have their favorite episodes already. Pippi love Nelson the Pigeon. Jem’s favorite is Mimi the Mermaid. Bubbles always wants to do Marv the Metal Detective. Duke loves Squish the fish. Pooh’s favorite is Tiny the T-Rex. and Baby Kermit had fun doing  Pedro the Penguin.

I hope at least some of you will give it a try. I would love to hear what your kiddos favorites are. Happy Yogaing!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

