Lent 2017-Mother Teresa and Resisting Happiness

It’s that time of year when my feelings of guilt run high and the anxiety of not being able to achieve my Lenten goals seem to get the best of me.This year we will be following the guidance of one of our favorite saints, Mother Teresa. We will be using the book Bringing Lent Home with Mother Teresa by Donna-Marie Cooper O’Boyle. Last year we used the St. Therese of Liseux version of the book.
We have also decided to give up eating out. This means delivery and carry out too. I think it will be harder than I can imagine. It will do good for us to appreciate being able to eat out as well as each other for making dinner. We will also be looking for a project to do in our area to help others. We have found our new parish but it will take us a little time to get to know everyone and find our places. I know there is something we can do to help others, we just have to find it.

The final thing I have decided to do is to sign up for the Best Lent Ever. It’s a video based email program by Matthew Kelly that’s FREE. Matthew Kelly is one of my favorite Catholic authors. My favorite so far is The Rhythm of Life: Living Everyday with Passion & Purpose. The Best Lent Ever program is on Matthew Kelly’s book Resisting Happiness. While attending Mass at a Church during our hunt for our new Parish I received a coveted copy of Resisting Happiness. When I started making my plan for Lent I knew this has to be part of it. So I will be watching the videos, reading, and praying for the Best Lent Ever.

Well wishes and prayers as you begin planning for Lent. Remember that Lent isn’t just about giving something up something but about making improvements so that you can better serve God and his people. Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

