Graves Disease Awareness pt 1

Hi there everyone! Kim, here.

I know I haven’t been posting as much lately. Youre all probably have been wondering why. I have been going to the doctors trying to get my Graves Disease back in check and finding out if I have sleep apnea or not. I have also been dealing with alot of anxiety with bouts of depression. I want to be honest about this so again when the kiddos look back they can see I was trying harder than they knew. Today I’m going to share the beginning of my story of  living with Graves Disease.

In Oct 2013, Baby Kermit was born a healthy baby and I was sent home from the hospital healthy as well. There is still no clear way to know if his birth triggered it or not but I noticed very quickly that I didn’t lose any of the baby weight. I have never been a super athletic person but I have six kiddos and tend to keep pretty busy. I began to wonder if something wasn’t right. I also started to notice that my cycle was off. Late a day or two here or early. It was weird. The kicker was when I started having hot flashes. I’m in my early 30’s and know that I’m not quite there for Menopause. I was also dealing with some anxiety and depression. My husband and a friend forced me to make a doctors appointment. I have what people call whitecoatitis. It’s a real thing. I have had some good and bad doctors and I still hate going. The waiting is the worst.

Anyways, I am so thankful that I did not see my PCM that day, Aug 2015. I saw a very responsive and eager to help, Dr. Roger Ewonkem. He was quick to notice my pulse was way above where it should be and knew almost right away what my symptoms meant. He said We’re gonna run some tests. He prescribed me blood pressure meds and told me that I could of had a heart attack at 31. He didn’t tell me this to scare me. He told me this to make me see how serious things were.

When the labs came back they called to tell me I had Graves Disease. My thyroid had been making too many hormones. My body had been attacking itsself. I am still so very thankful to Dr. Ewonkem for taking my symptoms seriously. He was very kind in explaining what Graves Disease was. He put in a referral for an Endocrinologist as well as for an ultrasound to be done. One of the scary things that can come about from Graves Disease is goiters. Which are growths on your thyroid. What’s your thyroid? It’s the butterfly shaped thing in your throat. It regulates your breathing, your body temperature, and your cycle just to name a few. It’s interesting to think about how hard I tried to make everything seem like it was ok.

I will be making posts here and there about how this journey with Graves is going for me. This is just the beginning. Graves Disease isn’t something that just goes away. If you have been diagnosed and want somebody to talk to feel free to email me at adventureswithsix@gmail.com

Please take the time to check out this website for more information: Thyroid Hug

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

